A Very Wiggy Christmas

Merry Christmas everyone!  Festivities peaked yesterday and we are all nursing our food hangovers in the Wiggy house today.  I have loved the build up to Christmas this year.  For a while in my 20’s I was over it but now that Levi is becoming more aware of Christmas being a special time, the nostalgia of it all is bringing back the excitement and magic.  We’re not really a Griswold decoration family, but here’s a sneak peek into how we brought the merry and bright into our home this year.

Image

Image

If you have a bay window and don’t put a real Christmas tree in it then you are a grinch.  We bought our tree on the 1st of December and this year it was so fun to give Levi free reign on the bottom half of it, especially because we managed to make some of our own decorations this year.

I have a stack-load of charity shop decorations that I collect – it’s kind of cool to think that another family has gathered around a tree with these decorations before.  This mustard one was this years fav.

Image

Some of our handmade decorations…

Image

My friend Jen made us these crochet bird decorations a couple of years ago.  SO cute.

Image

Annnnnd some classic IKEA toadstools.  Those Scandi’s sure know how to suck me in.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I love the make your own banner kit I bought from Papermash – it’s going to be used all year round.

Image

There were 15 of us at our gaff for dinner on Christmas day – my folks, in-laws and some new friends.  It was hearty and warm and LOUD!  Have you guys played the app ‘Heads Up’ on the iphone?  It’s a good one to whip out for a post dinner game.

Image

Image

Have I mentioned how amazing it has been to have my parents here for the holidays?  It has.  They rock.

Image

Image

I walked into the living room at one stage in the evening and found all the kids (mine included) glued to electronic devices and quickly redirected them to the playroom in our basement.  Wahhhh, I don’t want our kids to forget about actual toys…

Image

My dad did his traditional sock-stockings for the kiddies full of sweets, oranges, colouring books and trinkets.  Always a hit.

Image

So here we are on Boxing Day; making leftover sandwiches, the boys off to the local football derby and mum, Levi & I relaxing at home.  I hope you all have a chance to unwind with family and friends this week.

One thought on “A Very Wiggy Christmas

  1. Pingback: 2013 Reflections | Mel Wiggins

Leave a Reply

