Homemade Coconut Granola

We had a little case of cabin fever today.  We peaked too soon.  After a lovely mid-morning to afternoon trot around St. George’s market, we headed home to an unsuccessful nap time and very little energy. (damn you car-naps that throw the real thing off!) We were all feeling a little lazy and grumpy so I took Levi into the kitchen to bake something.  He loves to help.  And by help I mean stir stuff.  And by stir stuff I mean throw wooden spoons into bowls and then throw food-covered wooden spoons around the room.  Ah, kids!

After perusing my pinterest ‘YUM’ board and only coming up with recipes that required EVERY ingredient that we didn’t have (who regularly keeps condensed milk to hand??) I decided to wing it with a basic granola recipe and came up with…

Image

 

It was easy as pie (granola pie…muaha) and very tasty.

Coconut Granola

–  1.5 cups of porridge oats

– 1/2 cup of desiccated coconut (I used sweetened coconut because that’s what I had left over from making fifteens)

– 1/3 cup of coconut oil (now, before you roll your eyes at me – I know not everybody has coconut oil to hand – but you can get it at any health food shop (I got mine at Holland & Barrett) and it is a great healthy alternative to butter and oil in baking/cooking and I’m now addicted.  I also use it to moisturise my body and condition my hair but that’s another post. So just get some, ok?)  Also note that coconut oil comes in a pretty solid form so  depending on the recipe you will need to scoop some out and melt it down for a couple of seconds in the microwave to use it (the measurement above is for the melted oil).

– 1/3 cup of agave nectar (again with the eye rolling.  It’s this and I get it in Sainsburys so it’s not that exotic.  It’s a healthy replacement for sugar/sweetener and I use it to bake, in my coffee, in my cereal etc.  Failing that, you can also use honey in place of agave for this recipe.  Golden syrup would probably do the same job.

– 1 tsp of cinnamon

– 1 tsp of vanilla extract

Basically you just mix the dry ingredients in a bowl, add the liquid and make sure it’s all stirred together well.

Put the mixture into an ovenproof casserole dish and flatten it down with a spatula.  Stick it into the over on 140 degrees for 40 mins, giving it a shovel around every 10 mins or so to make sure it all gets a chance to brown.

Image

 

Once it’s cooled all you gotta do is add milk and get that coconuty goodness down the hatch!

This recipe can also be doubled easily (I ran out of porridge so I had to adapt) to make more.  

I reckon ours will be gone by Tuesday.

Now, I’m off to make some Kraft macaroni and cheese like the classy culinary bird that I am.  It’s my last box and I figured it was safe to eat it now because I can stock up in 2 weeks when we head to Canada.  

2 thoughts on “Homemade Coconut Granola

  1. You made KD, which is brill! I like this recipe. And the labels. Where you get those (I love stationary”)

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. Pingback: 2013 Reflections | Mel Wiggins

Leave a Reply

