Tis The Season To Bake Shortbread, FA LA LA LA LA LA LA LA LA

I’m sitting here having just decorated the tree, Superscrimpers Christmas Edition is on the telly (my fav) and I’m devouring some warm crumbly homemade shortbread.

After posting a little tweet/fb status about sampling my homemade shortbread last night I had a few people requesting the recipe.  Believe me when I say that I am a complete novice when it comes to shortbread.  I only made it for the first time last week when my friend Sharyn came over for a bake-fest and showed me how utterly brainless this treat is to whip up!

I made a plain batch first but as the afternoon went on, I started to get a little adventurous and tried a few different blends and to my surprise, they totally worked!

The recipe is in a 2, 4, 6 format and goes like this:

2 oz of castor sugar

4 oz of softened butter

6 oz of plain flour

I am so uncouth in the shortbread baking ways that I refused to fuss around with a mixer and used my (freshly washed) hands to bind it all together – adding a little bit of butter if it wasn’t stick well together.

Once you have it all bound together you can add in whatever you like.  I made two batched and added:

– a handful of peanutbutter chips (sorry UK chaps, I got them in Canada) in one batch

– zest of half a large orange and a thick pinch of cinnamon in the other.

IMAGINE THE OTHER COMBOS YOU COULD DO!?! Chocolate chip, dried cranberry & cinnamon, lemon…

I then rolled each batch into a long log (har har har) and wrapped them up in tin foil.  The best bit about this is you can either just pop the foil log of shortbread in the fridge (if using within the week) or in the freezer (for using later). It literally took 5 minutes to make.

EVERYBODY loves fresh warm shortbread with a cuppa (especially at Chrimbo when visitors are calling all the time) so this way, whether it’s frozen or refrigerated, you can just slice up the log into round discs and pop them on a lightly floured baking tray and shove them in the oven at about 140 for about 12-15 mins (sprinkling some sugar on them just towards the end).

Just enough time to get your china out, boil the kettle and make your visitors a brew!

peanutbutter chip    orange & cinnamon

 

HAPPY BAKING!

5 thoughts on “Tis The Season To Bake Shortbread, FA LA LA LA LA LA LA LA LA

  1. I love how you take something relatively simple (shortbread) and turn it into something beautiful and creative (pretty plates, addition of various flavours, and the whole pretty picture of warm hospitality you paint with your words)! xx

  2. Pingback: St. Valentine Shortbread « Mel Wiggins

  3. Pingback: Simple Christmas Makings

Leave a Reply

