Growing Stuff

I really am trying to grow stuff.  We have a pretty rubbish back garden for growing anything substantial so I’ve been easing my way into growing stuff in pots by starting with some easies like chilli peppers, tomatoes and herbs.  This is our little crew so far…

I bought these babies at the pound shop (please don’t be poisonous) so if it all goes horribly wrong, I won’t be out of pocket too much. 

I’m not a big fan of the pots that these kinds of things come in, or are intended for and maybe I’m missing something important in terms of habitat for the soil or something like that but I wanted my sill to look pretty so I’ve adapted a little. 

The tomatoes are growing in a vintage enamel bucket, the peppers are at home in a little pink pot and the basil is growing in a concoction of a saucer and an open bottomed glass lampshade – all found in various charity shops!  BE GONE, YOU UGLY BROWN PLASTIC POTS!

If you follow me on instagram you will see that I also made a couple of cute little plant labels.  It was easy peasy.  All I used was a toothpick, a bit of card and some washi tape.  I typed the plant name onto the card on my trusty typewriter, taped the stick to the card and popped it in the soil.  I think it adds just a little something, ya know?

I’m not sure if I’m going to be any good at this growing stuff thing, but there are leaves popping up and signs of life remaining so far.  I find it helpful that they are right in my eyesight all the time as I do dishes and potter in the kitchen.  I have been known to make a hash of plants.  Once, Dave and I were CONVINCED there was a dirty nappy hiding somewhere in our living room.  We searched the place high and low before realising that our big potted plant was rotting and THAT’S what smelled so foul.  Ah well, God loves a trier.

Leave a Reply

