2011 The Year of Contentment

Here we are, on the cusp of a new year. I’m sitting in my brother & sister-in-law’s living room overlooking the water of Cardiff Bay. I’m so chilled out, I can barely string a sentence together (which makes family games really fun).  Levi is asleep in the next room, and I’m not convinced I’m going to make it to midnight when my mum will make us sing ‘Auld Lang Syne’. My eyes are dragging and I’m stuffed full of foxes biscuits and malteasers (weigh-in-dread is setting in heavily…pardon the pun).

Maybe you have some resolutions you are thinking about, maybe you hate all that, but it’s hard to deny that there is something fresh and pure about the beginning of a new year.

I’ve had a corker of a year: Moved back from a fabulous, frivolous year in London, foetus in tow to settled back into life in Northern Ireland. Started hosting Magpie Parties with Rach & Jill, enticing people to get their craft on. Started being nosey about the issue of human trafficking in our local area. Got together with Laura and lots of amazing others to start Craigavon A.C.T. and got excited about sharing the Stop The Traffik message with others. Welcomed Levi into our world. «HUGE BLUR» Came up for air from the blur and bliss of a newborn baby and finally felt human again. Spent lots more time with family (cute babies bring them over more), spent Canadian Thanksgiving with great friends from Church at our house, started to be more thrifty on a Thursday on this blog (and other days!), got obsessed with Pinterest, was challenged to be more ‘Gorgeously Green’ and hosted my first ever Christmas family dinner (I guess having a kid makes you grown up enough to do that now). PHEW!

I need a nap.

I feel like this was the year of figuring out how to really prioritise doing the things that make me who I am, and discovering the discipline to continue doing those things. Having a new baby can be an awesome excuse to be lazy. However, understanding and doing these things has brought loads of contentment to my life.

Not perfect balance in any way, but a contentment that is realistic – with lots of mistakes as well as successes along the way.

That’s the kind of pace that I can go along with because I feel secure about the stuff I’m investing my time and energy in, so the mistakes and successes only make me want to move forward.

I can only hope that this contentment will be extended to me as this next year commences and in the years to come, and I wish that for you.

So, from us three Wiggy’s to you and yours…

Happy Contented New Year. XO

Leave a Reply

