Thrifty Thursdays – How Lovely Are Your Branches.

This probably goes against all my so-called ‘green ambition’, but I’m getting a real Christmas tree this year.  A REAL ONE.  We never had a real tree growing up, and I envied my friends that did, so I’m resolving my inner Christmas tree jealousy woes and taking the plunge. Dave and I haven’t put up a tree for 3 years in a row (in Canada, moving to London, in Canada) so that might be why I’m going all out, whole-hog for decking the halls this year.

I remember coming across this tree on Hannah’s Blog ‘Seeds and Stitches’ last year (I don’t even know Hannah, but her blog is pretty and full of interesting and crafty things), and have lusted over it’s beauty all year long.

So, with this as my inspiration, I’ve decided to go against the matchy matchy red and green decoration theme by making and collecting odds and ends to put on the tree. That along with lots of ribbon and a few twinkly lights and I reckon I’ll be onto a winner.  There are LOADS of things you can make yourself or collect from around your house or charity shops to decorate your tree with – here are my favs, soon to be showcased on our tree:

– little vintage tea cups

DIY saltdough ornaments

– paper doilies

– dried/fake flowers

– ribbon & lace (LOTS OF RIBBON & LACE!)

pine cones (spray paint them if you are adventurous)

paper snowflakes

wool pom poms/ felt pom poms/ paper pom poms – ANY POMS!

tie scrap fabric to your fairy lights

scrap fabric chain garland

So there you are – get rummaging and get creative and thrifty with your tree this year – make it your own!

Leave a Reply

