Thrifty Thursdays – Vinegar

Folks,  I’m turning into my mother-in-law. 

A few months ago she produced this book ‘1001 Uses For Vinegar’ and proceeded to educate me on how it magically cleans every surface, appliance, wound as well as healing varicose veins, burns, athletes foot, raises the dead, stops world famine…etc etc etc…you get the picture. 

This is the same lady who, in her battle with the staff of our local Tesco in a bid to get them to clean the cement-like ring of scum from their public toilets, took it upon herself to march in one night, buy a bottle of their 44p distilled white vinegar, rubber gloves and a scouring pad and clean them herself.  She then located the duty manager to show them her work and had their word they would use vinegar on them from now on.  AND she got her supplies refunded for her efforts!  Legend!

In my quest to be more ‘Gorgeously Green’, I recently decided to take her at her word and give the old vinegar a go.  I’m now a convert.  So many of our recommended cleaning products are not only really expensive, but bring really potent and toxic chemicals into our houses.  I don’t know about you but the older I get, the more I worry about these things.

Solution – VINEGAR! 

This is probably old news to many, but I now use it for cleaning everything!  Countertops, toilets, sinks, leather, floors – you name it!  I kept one of my old toxic cleaner spray bottles, filled it with half with white distilled vinegar and the other half with water.  A bottle of the vinegar (leading grocery chain own brand) is only 44p and lasts AGES! You can also mix a paste of baking soda, vinegar and water together to use on tile grouting or any other more heavily stained areas. 

The only teeny down side is you have to put up with your house smelling like a fish and chip shop for about 20 minutes after you clean, but the whiff goes quite quickly, and it really brings things up sparkly. 

I’m sure as I read on in the GG book, I’ll discover some more natural cleaning solutions, but for now I’m bigging up the vinegar.  I mean, 44p!!!? Hows THAT for thrifty?!

Anyone else have any natural cleaning advice?

Leave a Reply

