Thrifty Thursdays

I’ve decided that Thrifty Thursdays is going to be a regular feature on my blog. Hopefully I will be able to post each week of some way that I’ve been a little more thrifty with my time and money.  Keep a look out for charity shop finds, recycled goods and my crafty or homemade ventures.

Speaking of charity shops – it’s no secret that I’m a big fan.  I love having a good rummage through all the weird and wonderful stuff that people give away – and it’s a fab bonus to be able to give your pennies to a good cause, rather than the often corrupt and ethically dodgy big chains.

My friend Lucy and her husband Tim are really amazing at making old thrown away things become beautiful pieces in their home.  Check out her blog to see how they are doing this..they’ve scored so many amazing things from the side of the road, out of bins and in charity shops.  It’s made me really aware of how much we waste and the pressure that is attached to having so much ‘new’ stuff. 

Even more than charity shops, I love FREE STUFF. When I saw on a facebook page of one of my favourite little vintage shops that a lady was offering to GIVE away a lot of her excess vintage/retro stuff, my ears perked up.  The shop wasn’t able to pick up her goods, so I kindly offered to take them off her hands.  One 30 minute drive to Belfast later, I came home with 5 or 6 boxes full of gems! 

Opening each box was like Christmas morning and my living room looked like a jumble sale!

I’m still in disbelief that she would want to give so much away (imagine what she was keeping!), and so I thought I would pay forward her kindness and invite some friends round to take some stuff for themselves as well.  Here are some of the bits we kept…

Beautiful right?

I heart pyrex dishes!

Awesome coloured cut glass vases.

Cutesy little blown reindeer family!  My nanny had some of these in her house..ah nostalgia!

Love this coffee pot.  And this is just a taste.  I also scored some lovely little pictures for Levi’s room and a whole HOST of other china and homeware.

It’s so lovely to receive such unexpected generosity, and it really challenged me about how closely I hold on to my possessions.  I want to be more thrifty, less consumerist; more free and less bound to my stuff.  Hopefully ‘Thrifty Thursdays’ will keep me accountable to making generosity and thriftiness a more regular part of my life.

Leave a Reply

